Product Reviews

Flextoe Flextoe

* Includes (2) toe ties * Allows for a wider butterfly and increased range of motion, enabling your skate to get to the ice quicker * Relieves stress on the ankles, knees, hips and groins * Connects to your skates in seconds saving you time in the dressing room * Gives you the flexibility for maximum performance
Average Rating:
3.467 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Flextoe
Review 1 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size: 
Perfect Fit
Small
Large
Weight: 
Light
Heavy
Light
NorsemanGoalie
Location: MN
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
A Good First Impression
Pros: Great value, Easy to use
I just bought the Flex Toe and installed them on my leg pads. I am impressed with the initial quality of the product. The final test with be performance on the ice. My initial thought is that these will be $20 well spent.
Review 2 for Flextoe
Date:7/22/14
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Protection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
goaliejon
Location: Lakeville, MN
Skill Level: Advanced
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
junk
Cons: Quality, Expensive
The cheap plastic clips broke the first time I was on the ice with them on.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rask40
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
Great product
Pros: Helped improve my game, Easy to use
The flex toe works great it helps my son get his leg pads on by him self and much faster. He's been wearing the same pair for a year now with no problems and that's about 4-5 times a week. Make sure you read the instructions and hook them like they say under the first lace and with the hooks up and you wont have a problem. The only way I could see having a hard time for them to work is if your goalie skates have that plastic protector that goes over the front of the laces and you cant hook them up through them. My son wears bauer and they work perfect with flex toe.
Review 4 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Protection
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Heipfam
Location: Vancover
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: More than 5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
good concept but not the best product
Cons: Hindered my development, Quality, Expensive, Difficult to use, design
I bought these toe tie replacements in the state of mind that they would save me time, which they didn't. In one of my tryout sessions the clip broke off completely which was annoying considering I was trying to get on a team. The clips themselves are a pain to get on because of how tight they needed to be to create enough force to hold your skate. So in reality the purpose of saving time was defeated.
Review 5 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Subcooled
Location: MN
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
Less Stress=Less Sore
Pros: Helped improve my game, range of motion
Cons: Expensive
A lot less stress on knees and ankles as advertised as I'm much less sore the day after playing. It doesn't really save time, but it doesn't take any longer either. I was looking for less soreness as a primary reason for purchasing.
Review 6 for Flextoe
Date:3/1/12
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GoalieDad1
Curious at 1st, great find!
Pros: Helped improve my game
Cons: lil pricey...
Used these with my Son's Brian's Zero G pads the entire regular season without any issues. They work great keeping pad centered after dropping to butterfly or after getting caught in any strange position. As soon as he popped up, the pads were right where they were supposed to be. Lil tricky to get used to putting on, but after that, these things rock! Follow directions, they don't come off, ours NEVER did...awesome innovation...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flextoe
Date:12/31/11
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jam2mtvx
Location: Darien ,Illinois
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: More than 5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice Hockey
Best Description: Goalie
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Expensive
This is my son 1st yr of getting his gear on my his self. and this made it a lot easier to get his pads on. He also like the way his pads feel on his skates
Review 8 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GJN25
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Goalie
Waste of Money
Cons: Quality
Don't waste your money with this. I used them for my son's pads. (He's a Mite) I have had them on for 3 practices and they have already fallen apart. Do yourself a favor and just use laces cause they won't snap apart unexpectedly. In theory, this is a good product, but the quality is horrible. Also, can be difficult to feed through the holes in certain pads. I found that they actually take more time to put on than laces do to tie. Not worth the money.
Review 9 for Flextoe
Date:9/24/11
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stef66
Location: Boston, MA
Skill Level: Advanced
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: female
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Goalie
Like It
Pros: Easy to use, saves time
I got this as a gift last winter. I might not have bought them myself, but I have always thought there was a way to attach pads quicker and easier and this does the job.
I haven't had any problems with them at all, found them to be very easy to install and use, and comfortable to wear.
For the folks who have them come off during play, a friend of mine had the same problem, But after talking, we realized she was attaching them with the clips facing down (towards your skates). They do pop off eventually this way. But I attach mine with the clips facing up (away from my skates - this is how they recommend in the directions.) The clips basically can't come off this way. Not sure if that is the same problem the others here were having, but I've had no problems.
As for breaking, I'm sure they can and will, but so have the countless skate laces I have used over the years.
My experience so far is good, I will probably get another set, if/when these wear out.
Review 10 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Protection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chaluka
Skill Level: Advanced
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Goalie
hated it
Pros: saves time
Cons: Quality, Expensive, Difficult to use
flex toe can sometimes come off when you are on the ice which is stressful cause you skate over it and the string breaks,i did like time saved in the locker room and the flexibility,i also hate the price cause all it is really is a bungee cord with a hook and to make it cost 5 bucks compared to 20
Review 11 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaliforniaWall
Location: San Jose, CA
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 1 time per week
Gender: male
Interest: Inline
Best Description: Goalie
Simplify suit-up
Pros: Easy to use
I've always had trouble with toe laces and never had skates that could accommodate a toe strap. The laces either came untied, were too tight and limited pad rotation, or outright broke from rubbing against the chassis. Bought these along with new goal skates (Axiom G7) dreaming of a quick and easy way to tie down the toe.
NOTE - Out of the box the clips supplied with the FlexToe did NOT fit through the chassis slot on the Mission Axiom G7s, too wide! I opted for modifying the $20 clip rather than the $350 skates... I had to sand the clips down a little, now fits like a glove and still easy to get on and off.
Pretty simple to install following the diagram and online directions. Easier to use, though I can see how they'd come unclipped from time to time. I'm going to follow manufacturer's suggestion and add sports tape to the laces where I clip on. This not only provides a wider area for the clip to grip, but the sports tape adds friction as well, making it less likely for the clip to slip off.
I noticed a difference in my first game. I wear the pad loosely at the toe to allow for rotation and the elastic in this tie does wonders for bringing the pads back to front. No more punching pads on the side to get em straightened out...
I play once a week so do expect these to last a while but am hesitant to bet on it as the clips do seem like the weakest link... If they last a few seasons I'll probably buy again.
Review 12 for Flextoe
Date:6/25/11
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Protection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size: 
Perfect Fit
Small
Large
Weight: 
Very Light
Heavy
Light
RCHRPH
Not worth the packaging :(
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Quality, absolutely doesn't last
This product is a great concept but that is as far as it goes. I've tried putting 4 different sets on and in each case had them come off. Unfortunately once was during a game! Nice timing! NOT! The set that lasted the longest was about 4 practices. I contacted the company and was sent a replacement and was told the new set would never come off. After installing that new set it lasted 1 time on the ice. That's it. Now the installation is very simple and you really can't mess up how to put it on the pads if you can follow a very basic diagram. So why do they come off so easy? The plastic clips simply can not hold the cord tight and it comes apart. I'm going to try again for a refund and suggest that you save your hard earned money and just use laces.
Review 13 for Flextoe
Date:6/19/11
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GloveSave02
Location: Portland Oregon
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Goalie
Not horrible
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Quality
I purchased these about a year ago and up until last week they got the job done, out of no where a few days ago they just up and fell apart when i was making a simple save. Once the product broke it threw everything out of whack on my pads and couldnt get the full rotation out of my pads, over all i would say it was a good product, but not great. They must have a product life of a year or something?
Review 14 for Flextoe
Date:6/6/11
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoalieDad
Location: RI
Skill Level: Don't Play
Frequency: Don't Play
Gender: male
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Don't Play
Excellent
Pros: Great value, Quality, Easy to use, Features
Have had these for my son since Mite level, helps get's those pads on quick and provides plenty of flex when they are developing the butterfly technique. Buying these again for the new pads. Ony draw back is only good for one set of pads, you can't remove them and put them on another set of pads. Once they are locked in they can only be used on those pads.
Review 15 for Flextoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jdmltn
Location: Chicago, IL
Skill Level: Intermediate
Frequency: 2-5 times per week
Gender: male
Interest: Ice
Best Description: Goalie
Excellent
Pros: Helped improve my game, Great value, Easy to use
Easy install, easier to gear up and even better to use. Secures the pads to the skates easier than laces, stays secure. Does a great job letting the pads rotate when you go down and bringing them back into position when you are up. No more ffiddling with the pads after the whistle. If you have not tried these, give them a try. Well worth the money!